Which country is hosting Euro 2020?

THIS summer's European Championships will NOT be hosted by one country, but instead eleven host cities.

Uefa have announced that for the first time in the competition's sixty year history, the tournament will be taking place across the continent of Europe a year after it was originally scheduled for.

Euro 2020 was originally scheduled for June 12 – July 12 last year but was cancelled due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

Each city has assured UEFA that 25% of their capacity will be filled with spectators for the tournament this summer.

Who are the eleven host cities for Euro 2020?

  • Amsterdam Arena – Amsterdam
  • Olympic Stadium – Baku
  • Arena Nationala – Bucharest
  • Puskas Arena – Budapest
  • Parken Stadium – Copenhagen
  • Hampden Park – Glasgow
  • Wembley Stadium- London
  • Allianz Arena – Munich
  • Stadio Olimpico – Rome
  • La Cartuja – Seville
  • Krestovksy Stadium – St. Petersburg

Thirteen cities were initially selected as venues for the tournament but that number is now down to eleven.

The first host city to be removed was Brussels in 2017 due to delays with construction of the Eurostadion.

Then in April of this year it was announced that Dublin would no longer be a host city due to the Irish government being unable to guarantee 25% of the Aviva Stadium could be filled.

The Royal Spanish Football Federation have also changed their host city from Bilbao to Seville due to the local Basque government being unable to guarantee fans would be able to attend games.

When is Euro 2020?

  • Opening game – 11 June, Stadio Olimpico Rome – Turkey vs Italy
  • Final – 11 July, Wembley Stadium London

Twenty-four teams will contest the tournament across six groups in venues all over Europe.

The top two teams from each group will progress to the knockout rounds, as well as four best placed third-teams.

Holders Portugal will try to retain their title after winning the 2016 tournament in dramatic fashion thanks to an extra-time winner from striker Eder.

Where are the knockout rounds?

  • Last-sixteen – Amsterdam, London (2), Budapest, Seville, Copenhagen, Budapest, Glasgow
  • Quarter-finals – St. Petersburg, Munich, Baku, Rome
  • Semi-finals – London (2)
  • Final – London


    Source: Read Full Article