Bafta TV Awards 2021: Time, channel and how to watch

TV's biggest ceremony will soon be making a comeback.

The Bafta TV Awards 2021 will be following strict rules. Stars unable to attend the event due to Covid restrictions will appear as holograms on the red carpet while fans may follow the event in the comfort of their homes.

When are the Bafta TV Awards 2021?

The Bafta TV Awards, already tainted by scandal, will be taking place on Sunday, 6 June 2021;

The ceremony will be starting at 8pm.

Due to Covid, and just like last year's edition, it will be socially distanced.

Winners will accept their awards via video call.

How can I watch the Bafta TV Awards ceremony live?

The Bafta TV Awards will be available to watch live on BBC One.

UK viewers will be able to watch the even from 8pm to 10pm.

Hopeful fans wishing to attend the ceremony will not be able to line the red carpet.

Just like the stars, they will also be making an appearance in hologram form.

Who is nominated?

Nominees have been announced.

The line-up is as follows:

Best actress :

  • Billie Piper in I Hate Suzie
  • Daisy Edgar-Jones in Normal People
  • Hayley Squires in Adult Material
  • Jodie Comer in Killing Eve
  • Letitia Wright in Small Axe
  • Michaela Coel in I May Destroy You

Best actor

  • John Boyega in Small Axe
  • Josh O'Connor in The Crown 
  • Paapa Essiedu in I May Destroy You
  • Paul Mescal in Normal People
  • Shaun Parkes in Small Axe
  • Waleed Zuaiter in Baghdad Central

Best Supporting Actress

  • Helena Bonham Carter in The Crown 
  • Leila Farzad in I Hate Suzie 
  • Rakie Ayola in Anthony 
  • Siena Kelly in Adult Material 
  • Sophie Okonedo in Criminal: UK 
  • Weruche Opia in I May Destroy You 

Best Supporting Actor

  • Kunal Nayyar in Criminal: UK
  • Malachi Kirby in Small Axe
  • Michael Sheen in Quiz
  • Micheal Ward in Small Axe
  • Rupert Everett in Adult Material 
  • Tobias Menzies in The Crown

Best Male Comedy Performance

  • Charlie Cooper in This Country
  • Guz Khan in Man Like Mobeen 
  • Joseph Gilgun in Brassic 
  • Ncuti Gatwa in Sex Education
  • Paul Ritter in Friday Night Dinner
  • Reece Shearsmith, Inside No 9

Best Female Comedy Performance

  • Aimee Lou Wood in Sex Education
  • Daisy Haggard in Breeders
  • Daisy May Cooper in This Country 
  • Emma Mackey in Sex Education 
  • Gbemisola Ikumelo in Famalam
  • Mae Martin in Feel Good

Best Drama Series

  • Gangs of London – Sky Atlantic
  • I Hate Suzie – Sky Atlantic
  • Save Me Too – Sky Atlantic
  • The Crown – Netflix

Best Single Drama

  • Anthony – BBC One
  • BBW – Channel 4
  • Sitting In Limbo – BBC One
  • The Windermere Children – BBC Two

Best Mini-series

  • Adult Material – Channel 4
  • I May Destroy You – BBC One
  • Normal People – BBC Three
  • Small Axe – BBC One

Best Soap and Continuing Drama

  • Casualty – BBC One
  • Coronation Street – ITV
  • EastEnders – BBC One
  • Hollyoaks – Channel 4

Best International Programme

  • Little America – Apple TV+
  • Lovecraft Country – Sky Atlantic
  • Unorthodox – Netflix
  • Welcome To Chechnya: The Gay Purge – BBC Four

Best Entertainment Programme

  • Ant & Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway – ITV
  • Life & Rhymes – Sky Arts
  • Strictly Come Dancing – BBC One
  • The Masked Singer – ITV

Best Comedy Entertainment Programme

  • Charlie Brooker's Antiviral Wipe – BBC Two
  • Rob & Romesh Vs – Sky One
  • The Big Narstie Show – Channel 4
  • The Ranganation – BBC Two

Best Scripted Comedy

  • Ghosts – BBC One
  • Inside No 9 – BBC Two
  • Man Like Mobeen – BBC Three
  • This Country – BBC Three

Best Feature

  • Big Zuu's Big Eats – Dave
  • Long Lost Family: Born Without Trace – ITV
  • Mortimer And Whitehouse: Gone Fishing – BBC Two
  • The Repair Shop – BBC One

Best Daytime

  • Jimmy McGovern's Moving On – BBC One
  • Richard Osman's House Of Games – BBC Two
  • The Chase – ITV
  • The Great House Giveaway – Channel 4

Virgin TV's Must-see Moment

  • Bridgerton- Lady Whistledown is revealed
  • Diversity on Britain's Got Talent
  • EastEnders – Gray kills Chantelle
  • Gogglebox – Reactions to Boris Johnson's news conference
  • Nigella: Cook, Eat, Repeat – 'Mee-cro-wah-vay'
  • The Mandalorian – Luke Skywalker appears

Best Current Affairs

  • America's War On Abortion – ITV
  • Italy's Frontline: A Doctor's Diary – BBC Two
  • The Battle For Hong Kong – Channel 4
  • The Cyprus Papers Undercover – Al Jazeera English

Robert Flaherty Award for Single Documentary

  • American Murder: The Family Next Door – Netflix
  • Anton Ferdinand: Football, Racism & Me – BBC One
  • Locked In: Breaking The Silence – BBC Four
  • Surviving Covid – Channel 4

Best Factual Series

  • Crime & Punishment – Channel 4
  • Hospital – BBC Two
  • Losing It: Our Mental Health Emergency – Channel 4
  • Once Upon A Time In Iraq – BBC Two

Best Reality and Constructed Factual

  • Masterchef: The Professionals – BBC One
  • Race Across The World – BBC Two
  • The School That Tried To End Racism – Channel 4
  • The Write Offs – Channel 4

Huw Wheldon Award for Specialist Factual

  • Extinction: The Facts – BBC One
  • Putin: A Russian Spy Story – Channel 4
  • The Rise of The Murdoch Dynasty – BBC Two
  • The Surgeon's Cut – Netflix

Best News Coverage

  • BBC News At Ten: Prime Minister Admitted To Intensive Care – BBC One
  • Channel 4 News: Deterring Democracy – Channel 4
  • Newsnight: Covid Care Crisis – BBC Two
  • Sky News: Inside Idlib – Sky News

Best Sport

  • Bahrain Grand Prix – Sky Sports Formula 1
  • England V France: The Final of Autumn Nations Cup – Amazon Prime Video
  • England v West Indies Test Cricket – Sky Sports Cricket
  • London Marathon 2020 – BBC One

Best Live Event

  • Life Drawing Dive! – BBC Four
  • Springwatch 2020 – BBC Two
  • The Royal British Legion Festival of Remembrance – BBC One
  • The Third Day: Autumn – Sky Atlantic

Best Short Form Programme

  • Criptales – BBC Four
  • Disabled Not Defeated: The Rock Bans With Learning Disabilities – Vice/Noisey
  • The Main Part – BBC iPlayer
  • They Saw The Sun First – Red Bull TV

Who is hosting the Bafta TV Awards 2021?

Comedian Richard Ayoade will be returning to host the Bafta TV Awards 2021.

He has hosted the previous edition of the ceremony in 2020, following Graham Norton in 2019.

Although most stars will be appearing as holograms, Richard Ayoade won't be the only celebrity present at the event.

Comedians Bill Bailey and Daisy May Cooper, Adrian Dunbar, star of LIne of Duty, presenter Maya Jama and dancer Oti Mabuse have been confirmed as guest presenters.

Other stars such as Paul Mescal, Jodie Comer, Billie Piper and Graham Norton will also be attending the event in person.

    Source: Read Full Article