Oscars 2023 Winners: Updating List

The list of winners for the 95th Academy Awards.

Send any friend a story

As a subscriber, you have 10 gift articles to give each month. Anyone can read what you share.

By Gabe Cohn

The 95th Academy Awards are set to begin at 8 p.m. Eastern (5 p.m. Pacific) on Sunday at the Dolby Theater in Los Angeles, from where they will be broadcast live on ABC. Jimmy Kimmel is the host.

“Everything Everywhere All at Once,” the proudly weird sci-fi movie from the filmmaking duo of Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, will go into the ceremony leading with the most nominations (11 total, including for best picture), followed by Martin McDonagh’s “The Banshees of Inisherin” and Edward Berger’s “All Quiet on the Western Front,” each of which have nine. The best picture race includes those three movies along with “Avatar: The Way of Water,” “Elvis,” “The Fabelmans,” “Tár,” “Top Gun: Maverick,” “Triangle of Sadness” and “Women Talking.”

For the first time since 1935, the best actor category is made up exclusively of first-time nominees: Austin Butler (“Elvis”), Colin Farrell (“The Banshees of Inisherin”), Brendan Fraser (“The Whale”), Paul Mescal (“Aftersun”) and Bill Nighy (“Living”). The best actress race is between Cate Blanchett (“Tár”), Ana de Armas (“Blonde”), Andrea Riseborough (“To Leslie”), Michelle Williams (“The Fabelmans”) and Michelle Yeoh (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”).

The New York Times’s awards-season columnist, Kyle Buchanan, thinks that the best actress race is likely going to come down to either Blanchett (a two-time Oscar winner) or Yeoh (who would be a first-time winner). The favorite for best picture, Buchanan wrote, is “Everything Everywhere All at Once,” although there’s plenty of room for an upset, maybe from “All Quiet on the Western Front.” Nothing is certain, of course — except perhaps that Kimmel’s opening monologue will make some kind of crack about “the slap” at last year’s ceremony.

Whatever happens, we’ll be covering it. Follow below for a full list of winners, which will be updated as announcements are made.

Site Index

Site Information Navigation

Source: Read Full Article