‘Small Axe’ and ‘I May Destroy You’ Lead Winners at 2021 BAFTA TV Craft Awards

The Steve McQueen-directed anthology series and the Michaela Coel-fronted show win big at the 2021 BAFTA TV Craft Awards by picking up multiple honors.

AceShowbizSteve McQueen‘s “Small Axe” and Michaela Coel‘s “I May Destroy You” were the big winners at the 2021 BAFTA TV Craft Awards on Monday night (24May21).

McQueen’s anthology series picked up technical prizes for Make Up & Hair Design, Costume Design, Production Design, Photography & Lighting: Fiction, and Scripted Casting, but it was Coel who scored the top prizes for Writer: Drama, and Directing: Fiction, which she shared with Sam Miller.

Accepting the writer honour, Coel said, “I would like to thank every draft. There are hundreds of them, each living only briefly and sacrificing themselves so the version we watched that won this BAFTA could exist.”

“I May Destroy You” also earned the Editing: Fiction accolade during the virtual ceremony, which celebrates creatives behind the camera, hosted by “Famalam” star Gbemisola Ikumelo and livestreamed on the BAFTA organisation’s YouTube and Facebook pages.

Onscreen talent will be honoured during the 2021 BAFTA TV Awards, which will take place on 6 June.

The full list of winners at the BAFTA TV Craft Awards is:

  • Emerging Talent: Fiction – Georgi Banks-Davies (Director), “I Hate Suzie
  • Emerging Talent: Factual – Marian Mohamed (Director), “Defending Digga D
  • Costume Design – Jacqueline Durran, “Small Axe
  • Director: Factual – Teresa Griffiths, Lee Miller, “A Life on the Front Line
  • Director: Fiction – Michaela Coel, Sam Miller, “I May Destroy You
  • Editing: Fiction – Editing Team, “I May Destroy You
  • Make Up & Hair Design – Jojo Williams, “Small Axe
  • Original Music – Harry Escott, “Roadkill
  • Photography & Lighting – Shabier Kirchner, “Small Axe
  • Production Design – Helen Scott, “Small Axe
  • Scripted Casting – Gary Davy, “Small Axe
  • Sound: Fiction – Jon Thomas, Gareth Bull, James Ridgway, Dillon Bennett, Eilam Hoffman, “His Dark Materials” (Episode 7)
  • Special, Visual & Graphic Effects – Russell Dodgson, James Whitlam, Jean-Clement Soret, Robert Harrington, Dan May, Brian Fisher, “His Dark Materials
  • Writer: Comedy – Sophie Willan, “Alma’s Not Normal
  • Writer: Drama – Michaela Coel, “I May Destroy You

Source: Read Full Article